12 bar/minor scale blues progression

Yesterday I decided that since I know enough about the minor scale I should take advantage of it and learn a more blues genre type playing style, well I found what I would call a very entertaining way to jam out on the guitar and in the end I started to look a bit like this guy

blues

Well no, I didnt suddenly turn into an old man but the emotions you can sense in the picture is what I felt. After playing for 3-4 hours the thought came across me to share this with my blog and thats what I did. So first what makes up the 12 bar blues?

The 12-bar blues or blues changes is one of the most prominent chord progressions in popular music. The bluesprogression has a distinctive form in lyrics, phrase, chord structure, and duration. In its basic form, it is predominantly based on the IIVV chords of a key. – Wikipedia

Simply put the 12 bar blues is what you could say as a background chord progression that not only sounds good but works really well played along with a minor scale. Now for that minor scale, In an earlier blog post I showed the importance of learning the scales but now you get to show them off, the trick to this is really to feel the music and trust your instinct rather than following a set route. This is really what makes it so fun because you can create as you go, and if  you have a friend to play along, you can really create some amazing music. Well ill leave you all with a great site for learning this stuff, and as always play on guys.

http://www.justinguitar.com

Leave a comment